With recent updates, the term "Member" on the screen has been changed to "User." If you still see "Member" in some parts of this help documentation, please read it as "User." For more details on this change, please refer to this announcement.
Overview
This page explains how to register and edit department information in Josys.
Synchronization Methods
When you set up External Data Sources to create your User Profiles, department information will be synchronized. Synchronization occurs in the following two areas:
- The "Settings > Departments" page
- The department field for each user in User Profiles
There are two patterns for synchronization:
- Overwriting Josys departments with information from the integrated tool
- Registering and editing departments only within Josys, without syncing department information from the integrated tool
By default, synchronization is performed using the first method. If the information in the integrated tool is updated, it will be reflected in Josys during the daily synchronization.
Disabling Department Overwrites from External Data Sources
If you prefer to register and edit departments only within Josys, please disable synchronization by following the steps below:
- From the Josys menu, click "Integrations > External Data Sources."
- Click the three-dot icon for the integrated external SaaS tool, then click "Map Fields."
- A pop-up window will open.
- Uncheck "Department" at the bottom of the list.
- Click "Save" in the bottom right corner.
Once you disable department overwrites from External Data Sources, the department field in User Profiles will no longer be synchronized, requiring you to enter this information manually in Josys. Local departments created only within Josys can be assigned to both manually registered users and users synchronized from external SaaS tools.