With Josys, if you are using an MDM such as Intune or Jamf Pro, you can integrate device information registered in those services into Josys as master data. By integrating, Devices in Josys is automatically kept up to date, reducing the effort of manually updating information.
This page describes how to integrate with the MDM tools mentioned above.
Overview
With Josys, if you are using an MDM such as Intune or Jamf Pro, you can integrate device information registered in those services into Josys as master data. By integrating, Devices in Josys is automatically kept up to date, reducing the effort of manually updating information.
This page describes how to integrate with the MDM tools mentioned above.
Target Audience
IT administrators who want to integrate Josys with external SaaS tools to create Devices.
What You Can Do After Integrating External Data Sources
By integrating your SaaS tools with Josys, you can import the device information registered in those SaaS tools to create your Devices.
If device information is already registered, they will be linked if they are determined to be the same device based on the serial number, device display name, etc.
Device information that does not exist in the current data will be registered as a new device.
You can also integrate multiple MDMs to build your Devices.
Reference: Integrating Multiple MDMs with Josys (Multi-Source Integration)
For details on the behavior of each MDM, please refer to the following pages:
- Integrating with Microsoft Intune (External Data Sources) to Create Devices
- Integrating with Jamf Pro (External Data Sources) to Create Devices
- Integrating with LANSCOPE (External Data Sources) to Create Devices
- Integrating with NinjaOne (External Data Sources) to Create Devices
Steps to Disconnect External Data Sources
- Go to "Integrations > External Data Sources", click the three-dot icon, and click the disconnect button.
- The following two options will be displayed. Select an option, and then click the "Disconnect" button.
-
Keep all synced devices
If you select this option, all devices synced from the MDM will be kept in Josys, and the data source for these devices will be changed to Josys. From then on, these devices will be treated as manually created devices. -
Delete synced devices
If you select this option, all devices synced from the MDM will be deleted from Josys.
-
Keep all synced devices
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: During integration, an option "-" appears, and I don't know what to do.
A: If you have not registered an "Integration Memo" for the tenant when registering apps like GWS or M365, the tenant name will display as "-" by default.
Reference: "Integration Name" in Apps Screen Description > Feature Description in App Details Screen
Q: How frequently is device information synchronized between the MDM and Josys?
A: Josys automatically synchronizes device information every morning.
Reference: Data Synchronization Timing After Integrating External Data Sources
Q: If I update information in Josys, will it be reflected in the MDM?
A: No, it will not be reflected in the MDM.
Q: What happens to MDM fields during export and import?
A: When exporting device information, all MDM fields such as disk capacity are included. However, during import, MDM fields are excluded to prevent errors.
Q: What happens to device creation if there are required Custom Fields?
A: Devices will be created with the required device Custom Fields left blank.
Q: What should I do if serial numbers do not match correctly and duplicate devices are created by mistake?
A: Since devices currently syncing with an MDM cannot be deleted, you will need to delete the device originally registered in Josys and use the device imported from the MDM. You can easily transfer the usage history by exporting and importing it via CSV files.
Q: What happens if I edit the field used as the matching key after integrating the device master?
A: After the initial sync and match, Josys assigns a unique ID. Therefore, even if the matching key is edited, duplicate devices will not be imported again.
Q: What happens to the data in Josys if a device is deleted in the MDM (such as LANSCOPE or Intune)?
A: The data will not be automatically deleted from the Devices in Josys. The integration status with the MDM will be disconnected during the next synchronization, but the device information itself will remain in Devices.
Q: Is there a difference in how device information is updated between manual sync and daily sync?
Yes. While registering and linking new devices are processed the same way in both syncs, the update behavior for already integrated device information differs as follows:
- Manual Sync (Run Sync): Already integrated devices are always updated with the latest information from the MDM.
- Daily Sync (Automatic sync every morning): Device information is updated only if a new check-in (communication history) has been recorded on the MDM side since the last sync. If no new check-in is reported, the device information remains unchanged.
Therefore, even if a device's status is not updated during the automatic daily sync, running a manual sync may update it to the latest status, such as changing it to "In Stock."